Baked Eggs Provencal

I tried a new egg dish for breakfast Sunday morning. My husband and kids went to Atlanta Bread to grab some pastries for breakfast and I asked them to bring me back a plain bagel.
I didn’t have any tarragon so I used basil. The farmers’ market tomatoes made a big difference. This would be a nice dish to make for a small brunch.

Baked Eggs Provencal
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon butter
6 eggs
2 ounces Gruyere cheese, coarsely grated
2 green onions, chopped
1/2 teaspoon dried tarragon or basil
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 medium tomatoes, sliced
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place oil and butter In a shallow 8-inch square baking dish. Place dish in oven to melt butter. In a large bowl, beat eggs lightly; stir in cheese, onion, tarragon, salt and pepper. Remove dish from oven; swirl it to coat it evenly with oil mixture. Pour egg mixture in and arrange tomato slices on top. Bake until eggs are just set, about 15 minutes, and serve.
Makes 4 to 6 servings.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Baked Eggs Provencal

  1. Sarah

    I am just wondering what your family bringing you back a bagel in Atlanta has to do with making this egg dish. I thought maybe the dish included a bagel but I see no mention of it.

  2. ginnaparsons

    I’m sorry, Sarah. I just re-read the post and it is unclear. My husband and kids went to Atlanta Bread Company, a new bakery/deli in Tupelo. They wanted to eat breakfast there, but I declined to go. I asked them to bring me a bagel to go with the egg dish I was making. I guess my brain got ahead of my fingers on the keyboard on that one!

Leave a Reply

